Check Your Express Entry Eligibility In Just Five Steps

Last Updated On : June 08 , 2023

Canada's Express Entry system aims to attract international skilled workers and students who can contribute to the country's economy. To qualify for Express Entry, an applicant must meet the following criteria.

1. Language proficiency:

Candidates must be proficient in either English or French, Canada's two official languages. A candidate must take a language test and score a minimum level of 6.0 proficiency in reading, writing, speaking, and listening. The most preferred English language test is IELTS, while many applicants go for a substitute and prepare for TOEFL, Duolingo, CELPIP etc.

2. Education:

Candidates must have completed a post-secondary education program, such as a degree, diploma, or certificate, and the program must be equivalent to a Canadian educational credential. As an international scholar, you should apply for higher education in a school/college/university approved by the provincial or territorial government, also known as a Designated Learning Institute (DLI), to get a Canada study visa.

The DLI in Canada that will award the degree, diploma, or certificate shall issue the Letter Of Acceptance (LOA). The document details the program of study, including any sessions or classes offered by that institution.

3. Work experience:

Candidates must have at least one year of experience working in a skilled occupation under the National Occupational Classification (NOC) skill level 0, A, or B. It is required that the work experience is from within the past ten years. NOC has been updated with NOC 2021 with version 1.0, so while filling a new express entry profile, confirm you fill up the right NOC and a valid job seeker validation code.

4. Age:

There is no specific age limit for Canadian immigration programs. However, after 45, you will not receive any points. As per the age factor in the Express Entry system, you can get a maximum of 100 points with a spouse and 110 without a spouse.

5. Adaptability:

Candidates must demonstrate adaptability to living and working in Canada. This can include previous work or study experience in Canada, language proficiency in English and French, and a job offer or provincial nomination.

In addition to these fundamental requirements, candidates must also satisfy the eligibility requirements for one of the three economic immigration programs the federal government offers. These programs include the Federal Skilled Worker Programme, the Federal Skilled Trades Programme, and the Canadian Experience Class.
Candidates are rated in the Express Entry pool based on their scores on the Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS). This system considers various characteristics, including age, education level, years of work experience, linguistic competence, and adaptability. Candidates with the highest overall scores can apply for permanent residency via ITA on every Express Entry Draw.